Asteroid Zoo Talk

Credit and implications for our classifications

• planetaryscience by planetaryscience

As a first-off question and introduction for this project, I would like to say that I am a planetary scientist (even my name says that) and am particularly interested in minor bodies (like asteroids and comets) and have been hoping for them to launch a project like this for longer than anyone would care to know. Although I've just begun looking through it, I have a couple of questions off the bat:

First, who exactly will be credited for the discoveries of the discovered asteroids (and possibly comets) resulting from this project? Typically the CSS is credited, but since this is a citizen science project will it be any different?

Second, what exactly are you looking to achieve from this project? Obviously it's looking for asteroids, but are you looking to get better observations on known asteroids, finding new ones, or perhaps something else?

Third, what time are these images coming from? Are they from last week, or last year? Do they have a consistent time interval, or are they just coincidental images of the same area?

Similar to #3, what is the 'limiting magnitude' of the images taken? As in the dimmest magnitude before an object is overwhelmed by static?

Thank you for taking the time to answer these questions. Much appreciated.

-Planetaryscience

Posted

• amczesak by amczesak

I would also be interested in all of these answers.

One possible answer for #1 may be alluded to in the email sent to me for signing up, "Creating this account means that we can now credit you when your clicks help us publish papers and even contact you if you discover something new!"

Posted

however the CSS has a habit of crediting the survey, and not the people who look at the images. Usually organizations led by multiple people do this, as it would be considered cheating for the person who just happened to look at something first to be the discoverer.

Posted