Asteroid Zoo Talk

Improvements to the User Interface?

• rbnerfjr by rbnerfjr

I am a retired physicist, with a long-standing belief that impedance-matching scientific data to the inherent skills in human perception and coordination is far better than fine-tuning clever algorithms. I’d like to help analyzing Zooniverse data, but I keep running into impedance mismatches between your data and my mind.

Here are my reactions from a first try at the Asteroid Zoo interface using Safari 7.0.5 on Mac OSX 10.9.4:

• The cursor does not always change with the picking mode, so I was initially confused whether to click on the image and then on the sidebar, or click on the sidebar and then on the image.

• I really need some sort of “bread-crumb” to mark the general location of an asteroid I spot in color-cycle display, because I lose the asteroid when I have to divert my visual attention to go click on the sidebar to set up the asteroid-picking mode. BTW: love the color-cycle display.

• If I miss a known asteroid, I want to be able to go back to the identical display and understand why I didn’t see it. Just telling me I missed something within a green circle on a differently-scaled view doesn’t allow me to improve. It actually tends to discourage me.

• When these frustrations built up and I clicked on “Talk” after finishing picking an image sequence, it took me to a page with no active fields, except for the astronomical image, at yet a third size, but with no color-cycle mode. (The login fields aren’t tempting because I have sampled several citizen-science websites, and I don’t want to get involved in looking them up and seeing whether any login I created there works here.) In attempting to abandon the “Talk” line, I wind up back to the tutorial sequence, apparently active on an image with no asteroids.

Posted

• planetaryscience by planetaryscience